(888) 692-2731
Testimonials
Shekar
Passed February 2017 Illinois Bar Exam

"Enrolling with John Ralston and Law Preps is one of the best things I have ever done for myself professionally. I was a fourth time taker this past February, and had literally lost all hope in passing the Illinois Bar Exam. I had tried everything - Barbri, Themis twice, and nothing worked for me.The fourth time around, I was working a very rigorous job in a faraway state, and had no clue how I was going to even begin tackling this exam once again, or if it was even worth my efforts anymore. I was absolutely burnt out, as I had given it just about all I had in me the past three times. This time around I had even more obstacles to overcome while studying for the exam. However, a friend recommended John Ralston, and this literally changed everything. John not only gave me an incredibly personalized study schedule and personalized tutoring sessions, but he instilled hope in me. His methods of tackling the bar exam are like nothing I have ever seen before. He breaks down every aspect of the exam to an extremely personal, relatable level. He identified my weaknesses and strengths, and helped me polish my test taking skills. He knows exactly what areas to highlight, and what concepts to focus on in order for a test taker to be successful. His outlines are extremely clear, concise, and to the point. He identified the specific ways in which I personally retain information best, and really connected with my thought process. Unlike commercial bar review courses, studying with John was different. I was genuinely learning the material, rather than focusing on numbers to hit. The past three times I had taken this exam, I was nowhere near passing territory walking into the exam despite living in Chicago, having all the Barbri and Themis resources at my fingertips, not having a job, and devoting myself full time to studying. This time around (my fourth time), I had a demanding full time job, in which I was working 60+ hours per week, and I was living halfway across the country. Walking into the exam this past February, I was passing my practice exams with flying colors. I attribute every ounce of my success to John's detailed program, and his commitment to my passing. He truly cares a lot about his students. Without his instruction, I absolutely could not have done this - and I mean that very sincerely. To those out there feeling helpless, this investment could be your saving grace."

Hendrik
Passed February 2017 Illinois Bar Exam

"I firmly believe I would not have passed the February 2017 Illinois Bar Exam on my second attempt without John's encouragement and guidance. John sincerely cared about my success and was always available to answer questions and provide insight to me during my study process. The method behind the Law Preps program is easy to understand and makes you feel genuinely prepared come test day. If you are a repeat-taker, take Law Preps."

Emily
Passed February 2017 Illinois Bar Exam

"After failing two bar exams I decided to give it one final try. My professor got me in touch with John from Law Preps and I signed up for tutoring. It was one of the best decisions I have made. After following barbri step by step I still was not seeing results and did not know why. John was able to identify the areas I needed help with and created a study program around me and my needs. In the months he worked with me, I was able to get the tools and confidence I needed to pass the exam. I quickly saw improvements in my practice test scores and felt a better understanding of the law. His method of teaching really helped me understand some of the more difficult and complex areas of law. He was very patient and explained concepts to me in ways which I could understand and build upon. I never thought in a million years I would understand property law, however, it soon became one of my stronger subjects, when John helped me break it down into concepts I could understand. When I took my last exam, I felt more confident and prepared. I would recommend John and Law Preps to anyone taking the exam. I could not have done it without their help!"

Paul
Passed July 2015 Illinois Bar Exam and July 2016 New York Bar Exam

"Before I met John, I seriously thought that the bar exam was not passable after failing the Illinois bar twice. I have tried different programs that ended up not working. John's approach is simple and intuitive. Once I applied it, I felt like I had become more efficient where I still had more than enough time in the day to still work full time and be able to have a personal life. Going into the bar exam, I felt more confident than the previous two times since the instructions given to me was tailored to exactly what they asked on the bar exam. In the end, I wish I had gone through this program the first time. John was with me every step of the way even when I doubted myself. As a result of this program, I can now start the next chapter of my life. I could not have done it without John's help."

Michael
Passed February 2016 Illinois Bar Exam

"Deciding on the best way to study for the bar can be almost as stressful as the exam itself; especially for the second time. As a student who chose the first go-around, I knew I needed to change my approach. After reading testimonials and speaking to fellow students who had also sought help from a tutor, I decided to go with LawPreps. What sets LawPreps apart from my experience at is the amount of information provided and the methodology to tackling the exam itself. I feel that LawPreps helped me manage the large amount of information on the exam, and tailored my experience to focusing on exactly where I needed the most help to pass. I felt defeated after failing the Illinois bar exam. However, after a few months with John at LawPreps I went into my second attempt with confidence, and left knowing I had passed. This was a rewarding feeling I had not experienced in my previous attempt. For those students, like me, who rely on testimonials such as this in making their decision on how to tackle the bar, I cannot give a higher praise to LawPreps. I am extremely satisfied with my decision to use their services."

Adam
Passed February 2016 Illinois Bar Exam

"Not passing one bar exam is a blow to the ego as anyone who attends any higher education is more than likely a tiny (read: A LOT) bit Type A. You work hard and ultimately see those results; be it in high school getting on a varsity sport, getting into the college of your choice, Dean's List, getting the LSAT score needed to get into law school and ultimately graduating! Ok, so you didn't pass - you re-group and try again. "You'll get it next time," supportive family and friends say! ...Not passing a second bar exam is utter disbelief and not passing the third exam is unimaginable and debilitating. Enter John and LawPreps! I know, with utmost certainty, that there is no way I would have passed this time around, let alone to have the restored confidence to make it through round four of studying. I am beyond grateful to John's guidance and look forward to making my mark in the legal world now that this exam is in my past. Thank you John and LawPreps!"

Claire
Passed February 2016 Wisconsin Bar Exam

"Working with John and LawPreps gave me the confidence needed to pass the Illinois Bar. After diligently following the method provided for the July exam, the shock and disappointment of needing to retake in February was an incredibly hard pill to swallow. Luckily, John came very highly recommended and he certainly did not disappoint. John and I spent the 10 weeks leading up to the exam refining the skills and tools necessary to pass the exam, discussing how to overcome my personal weaknesses in specific subject areas and examining how to approach each MBE and essay question. John’s ability to customize our routine based on my study needs was absolutely key to a successful outcome. We were a team for that 10 weeks, and John really pushed me to become as best prepared as I could be for the February exam – going over MBE questions I didn’t understand, walking me through my frustration with certain subject areas, making sure I was comfortable with areas that had previously proven difficult for me. He offered his consistent support throughout our study period, and I will be forever indebted to John for his invaluable insight and guidance. If you want to leave the bar exam knowing you passed, use LawPreps – you won’t regret it!"

Alana
Passed February 2016 Illinois Bar Exam

"In July 2015, I took the bar exam with high expectations of passing the first time. When I read the letter that I failed the July 2015 bar exam, my career plan took a step back. My first thought about approaching the test again was to take the repeat course because it was free. However, one of my professors had suggested LawPreps because a former student highly recommended the program. I ultimately decided to try the program and I’m very happy that I did, because when April 1st arrived, I received news that I passed! If I have to take the test in a different state, hands down I would go with LawPreps. LawPreps installed into me a level of confidence that was critical to my mindset going into the exam."

Danielle
Passed February 2016 Illinois Bar Exam

"I've never done well on standardized exams in my past but was in complete shock and disbelief after failing the July 2015 Illinois Bar Exam. I've never failed at something this big before. I've also never studied harder for an exam in my entire life which is why I felt totally defeated. I knew I needed more help. I needed one on one attention that I couldn't get through my commercial bar review course. John Ralston was there for my every need as a private tutor and provided me with a solid personalized study plan focused on conquering my weaknesses. He pushed me to reach my potential and gave me the confidence I needed to accomplish my goal of passing the Illinois Bar Exam. John has a great personality that is relatable to anyone which makes him enjoyable to work with."

Genevieve
Passed February 2016 Illinois Bar Exam

"I took the Illinois bar exam in July of 2014 and failed by 19 points. I was at my lowest and did not know how to approach the bar exam a second time. I initially took a well-known bar prep course that did not fit my needs. I spoke to a friend who did pass and she referred me to a friend of hers who took LawPreps and passed. I immediately called and signed up and had John as my tutor. LawPreps is what I needed to help me pass the bar. John works with you and designs a study schedule to fit your needs. I cannot express how happy I am I made the investment and truly wish I did it the first time I took the bar. John listens to you and pushes you to work hard. When I received my email I was beyond happy and knew it was because of LawPreps! So thank you LawPreps, especially John. I could not have done it without you!"

Sylvia
Passed February 2015 Illinois Bar Exam

"I can honestly say that John Ralston and LawPreps was the best decision I made in order to help me be successful on the IL February '15 Bar Exam. Unfortunately, I was unsuccessful the first time I took the IL Bar exam in July" Even though I took and studied my ass off I was still unsuccessful, so I told myself I needed to do something different to really give myself the best opportunity to be successful the second time around. That something different was having John Ralston as my tutor. By partnering up with John and his company, LawPreps, I was given the confidence and knowledge that I lacked the first time in order to be successful on the February '15 Bar exam. I would absolutely recommend that any bar examinee who is either taking the bar exam for the first time, second time or third time to give John and LawPreps a call because it will be the best money spent! Thanks again John Ralston for helping me accomplish my life long goal of becoming a licensed Attorney!"

Louis
Passed February 2015 Illinois Bar Exam

"I was very disappointed after finding out I had failed again. I had debated whether to take the exam again or just move on. However, I signed up for the bar again, and I had called and signed up with John. I still felt I was unable to pass the bar, and that would fail again. I was very discouraged and unmotivated. John helped lift my spirits and encouraged me every time we met. He looked into my previous scores, analyzed essays and multiple choice questions I had done. He told me what I could do better, and what areas to focus on. The whole process was customized to me, and it felt great! I didn't have to worry about what I should do differently this time or what I should focus on more. I am so beyond happy that John motivated me to give it all I got and go for it, and for helping me the whole way. Passing the bar gave me the biggest relief, and I am so happy, and grateful. Thanks again John!"

Sebastian
Passed February 2015 Illinois Bar Exam

"Hiring John as my bar exam tutor was one of the smartest and most strategic decisions I ever made. I knew this even before I received my results for the February 2015 Bar Exam. After two unsuccessful attempts where I stopped just shy of the passing mark, I knew I needed to do something differently on my third try. I talked to my closest mentors about next steps, and one of them (who happened to be a senior administrator at a law school) recommended John without one molecule of reservation. Even before John and I started 1-on-1 sessions, I began to understand why he enjoyed an enduring reputation. Right away he began doing the important work of trust building, confidence building, and strategic planning. He had reviewed my score reports, and made sure I was well prepared for the essay inspection session. He had designed a realistic study regimen around my schedule and availability. He returned my calls and emails, kept his promises, and provided me with reliable study materials/aids. But his real value came in our weekly meetings. We talked through every practice question with relentless aim. He made me explain why an answer was right or wrong, and even changed the facts in real time to make sure my understanding was solid. I found John to be an excellent teacher and coach. As a tutor, John brought a very collegial and laid back demeanor to our sessions--one that he complemented with an untouchable command of black letter law; a mastery of the law's most subtle nuances; and an invaluable ability to make the difficult look easy. He seamlessly distilled complicated legal rules and demystified the ways bar examiners test particular concepts. His level of preparation and sharpness motivated me to be extra prepared for each one of our 1-on-1 sessions, and I was able to consistently follow the study schedule without falling behind. Further, John proved to be a superior strategist. He made sure that I walked into the exam having had plenty of practice under timed conditions. He taught me how to best manage my time, maximize points on an essay/MPT, spot the right answer for an MBE question, and harness my anxiety. He ensured that I went into the exam with a plan and a very clear head. Unsurprisingly, throughout the exam, I was confident, focused, and felt that I could handle anything the bar examiners threw at me. As it turns out, not only did I pass, but my MBE score was high enough to waive in to both DC and Minnesota. I could not have done it without John. I enthusiastically recommend John to anyone who may be struggling with the exam. He is fantastic and is invested in those he tutors. Above all else, he is extremely effective."

Larry
Passed February 2015 Illinois Bar Exam

"Thank you. I would not have passed without you or your system. After failing the bar I knew that I needed to change my approach as to how I would study. I struggled with essays, scoring in the bottom 1% the first time around. John helped me identify the areas that I was struggling with, and laid out exactly how to construct a great essay. Further he showed me how approach the multiple choice questions confidently. John is the type of person who has a direct approach. He will not hesitate to tell you if you are not where you need to be and will make sure you get to where you need to be. Enroll in LawPreps and see for yourself."

Del
Passed February 2015 Illinois Bar Exam

"Coming from a repeat taker, with a job and at best four hours a night to study, John is the best investment I ever made. I learned twice as much in two hours a week with John than I did in 20 hours of studying on my own. John knows the time constraints involved with working, studying and still having a personal life. I am grateful to say that I passed with flying colors with the help of John and his program. Thanks John for all your hard work."

Bob
Passed February 2015 Colorado Bar Exam

"It took me three times to pass the IL Bar Exam. During my first two attempts, I studied alone and used an online course. I honestly felt like I was by myself and had no one to communicate with. This is why I turned to LawPreps the third time around. John is a great tutor and created a study plan tailored to my strengths. He got me thinking in a totally different way and gave me the confidence I needed to pass. It was great to have someone I could talk things out with if I was confused or needed extra clarification. LawPreps gave me the confidence and skill set needed to finally pass the IL Bar Exam. For that I am eternally grateful."

Cliff
Passed July 2014 Illinois Bar Exam

"Without John and the LawPreps program, I know I would be sitting for the Florida Bar for a sixth time. Prior to using LawPreps, I had used a different online tutor from a commercial program with the same results—failure. I was extremely weary of enrolling into another virtual tutoring program due to my prior experience being generic and impersonal. After reviewing several local and online tutorial programs, I knew LawPreps was the program that would lead me to success. After the initial consultation, John created a personalized study schedule that fit MY needs and weaknesses. During each session, John continuously challenged me in applying the law and not to memorize just for the sake of memorization. If it weren’t for John pushing me to explain my thought process and my answers, I would have continued to make the same mistakes and most likely fail the Bar exam again. John taught me invaluable techniques of how to approach each question, answer choice and essay. With each session, I felt more prepared and gained more confidence in myself—a feeling that I hadn’t felt in a long time. Even though most of the Bar takers using the LawPreps Program are taking the Illinois Bar, I highly recommend John Ralston and LawPreps regardless of what state bar exam you are taking. Thank you for everything, John."

Stephanie
Passed July 2014 Florida Bar Exam

"After the disappointment of not passing the July bar exam began to wear off, I knew that I would need to do something different than the first time (). After finding LawPreps online, I was able to talk to John and he seemed confident that he would be able to help me pass. After working with John weekly for the 3 months leading up to the bar, I can tell you that studying with John and LawPreps was the best decision I made when it came to bar prep and I wish I had done it the first time. John and LawPreps put together a detailed study plan for each day and allowed the tutor sessions to supplement this plan. By following this plan, I was able to get the most out of each session with John. While he made me work very hard, he also made the experience enjoyable. I am happy to say that I passed the February bar in Illinois and know for a fact that this would not have been possible without John and LawPreps helping me every step of the way."

Jordan
Passed Feburary 2014 Illinois Bar Exam

"John was an amazing bar exam mentor. He offered something did not- customized schedules, one on one sessions, email and phone access- all the way up to the day of the exam. The amount of effort John puts in with a student is astonishing. It was comforting to know that I could email or call him at any time of day with questions, or talk through my frustrations about the exam, or talk about specific confusions I had on any given subject. Getting a prompt response when you are in the middle of a freak out (yes, you will have many of those) means the world when you are physically, mentally, and emotionally drained at the end of a study day. John was beyond excellent- but you must be willing to put in the hours he suggests- and even more to pass this exam. I would definitely recommend LawPreps to first time takers as well as repeat takers."

Tina
Passed Feburary 2014 Illinois Bar Exam

"It took four attempts to pass the Illinois Bar Exam. I came closer and closer to passing with each attempt, but who knows how many more tries it would have taken to pass on my own. John was just what I needed to finally pass the Bar. He spent hours putting together a study plan that was geared specifically to my shortcomings, and forced me to think critically about how and why I continued to make mistakes. Without his help, I would most likely be studying once again for the upcoming bar exam. Thanks to him, I am getting sworn in shortly. I couldn’t be more pleased with the result."

Dan
Passed Feburary 2014 Illinois Bar Exam

"After I failed my first bar exam someone highly recommended John to me. I decided to forgo his services because I only failed by a couple of points and thought that if I just followed a little closer I would be fine. I ended up failing again. I decided to take the bar one more time. Obviously my strategy was not working and I knew I had to do something different, so I decided to try LawPreps. I soon realized that I needed a lot more individualized attention than what I had previous been getting. To my surprise, my essay writing needed a lot more work than I thought. We spent hours tailoring my writing to the bar. John also taught me how to break down a MBE question and differentiate between the right and wrong answers. Overall, John helped me learn from my past mistakes and taught me how to pass that bar. I would recommend LawPreps, and John specifically, to any bar taker, first-time or not."

Erica
Passed Feburary 2014 Illinois Bar Exam

"There are not enough words to fully express my gratitude to John Ralston and LawPreps. Having been unsuccessful on the Illinois Bar Exam more than once, John was incredibly supportive in helping me keep my head in the game and not give up on the whole process. John takes the additional time and effort that is necessary to ensure that you fully understand the areas of the law that cause you problems; and most importantly, he was always available when I had additional questions or doubted myself. I was the last person in the world who thought a tutor was necessary to pass the bar but it was the best decision that I made during the entire process. The kind of attention that you get from John on your specific strengths and weaknesses is unprecedented. John knew my abilities better than I did and that is why the program works. They do not just help you with issues that you have with the substantive law but they also correct your thinking and your whole approach to exam questions. This method of teaching is not something that you will ever find with the commercial companies because with those companies you are merely a number but with LawPreps, you are a client and they are focused on you and helping you overcome the exam. It was John's attention to detail and continual support that truly made the difference and resulted in my success on the exam. I cannot say enough good things about John and LawPreps and anyone who has been unsuccessful on a bar exam or is considering a bar prep program needs to contact John and LawPreps, you will not regret it."

Steve
Passed Feburary 2014 Illinois Bar Exam

"When I found out that I did not pass the bar exam, I felt SO disappointed and a little bit hopeless. I always tried my best in school, and usually, did pretty well. However, the bar exam was different than any other test I had ever taken. Studying with John was the best decision that I have ever made. Words cannot describe my gratitude towards John for all of his efforts. I honestly do not know if I could have passed this second time without him. If I could only give one piece of advice to future bar exam takers, I would tell them that it is okay to ask for help... the bar exam is the farthest thing from easy. Luckily, John can and will help you pass the bar. With John's help, passing the bar becomes a reality instead of a possibility!"

Kate
Passed February 2014 Illinois Bar Exam

"There's a stigma about needing a tutor to take a test. But LawPreps is the exception. John Ralston's approach makes learning to study for the bar exam comfortable, easy, and - dare I say it - fun. His naturally friendly and encouraging disposition helped me face my fears and learn to beat the bar exam. As a representative for one of the big name bar review courses, I was very disappointed by the method of ignoring students once the money was fronted. A general bar review course could not direct me to where I had the most trouble memorizing and understanding the black letter law, and no one from the bar review seemed to care. I missed passing the bar by three points my first time because I was unprepared for the civil procedure and evidence material on the Illinois morning essay exam. Further, where my scores were low on the MBE, I felt it was because the general and massive rule books from the bar review could not explain what I did not understand without a helping hand. John extended two helping hands and a great attitude. On the day of my second exam, I could list rules word for word AND I understood what I was writing! I definitely attribute this to John's approach to memorizing the law, understanding the law, and connecting the two in order to analyze facts. This was never something I was able to do before I was introduced to LawPreps. Now, I don't necessarily think of LawPreps on a daily basis, but I certainly find a significant improvement in my writing and my approach to analyzing the facts before me, and that shows me how much of an impact LawPreps had on my life and will have on my career. I give high praise to LawPreps and John Ralston, and would place my bets on him again if I were to take the bar exam again in another state!"

Arielle
Passed February 2014 Illinois Bar Exam

"With the guidance of LawPreps I passed the bar exam on my fifth attempt. I would not recommend any bar prep course or tutor other than LawPreps"

Sean
Passed Feburary 2013 IL Bar Exam

"I just wanted to send you a short email to let you know that I received my letter this morning and I passed!! At long last! Thank you so much for all of your help over the spring/summer. It was great working with you, but I am so relieved to no longer need you!"

Megan
Passed July 2012 Illinois Bar Exam

"I had never worked with a tutor before working with LawPreps. I had been unsuccessful on prior attempts at taking the Illinois bar exam, and decided to take one last shot at the exam. I worked with John Ralston, and I have to say that was the best decision I made for my career. As a repeat examinee I had serious test anxiety issues and felt the bar was an obstacle I would never conquer. John created a very efficient and reasonable schedule for me, and helped tremendously with my test anxiety. Without his help I would not have passed the Illinois bar exam!!!! I wish I had used a tutor the first time took the bar. I am not one to write reviews for anything, but I can confidently say that I highly recommend using LawPreps!!!!"

Jamila
Passed July 2012 Illinois Bar Exam

"I received the email late last night. I passed the NY Bar Exam! I could not have done it without all your help, all those hours and you working your schedule around to help me. Thank you very much for all your help."

Tomer
Passed July 2012 New York and New Jersey Bar Exams

"I cannot thank LawPreps enough for their invaluable help but, specifically a great big thank to my tutor Travis Rogers. Travis was not only a great teacher but also a tough one which, is exactly what I needed to pass the bar. In the summer of 2011 I decided to follow the herd and enrolled in a conventional bar prep course which did not provide me with the personal attention I needed. LawPreps however addressed all my areas of weakness and gave me the boost I needed to pass exam. Thank you LawPreps!"

Carolina
Passed February 2012 Illinois Bar Exam

"I rarely write these testimonials, but in this case I will make an exception. Like many other law school graduates, I was immediately drawn to the aggressive marketing of a particularly well-known commercial bar review course. When I failed the NY bar exam the first time, I became increasingly worried that the bar exam was an obstacle that I could never overcome, no matter how many hours I put in studying for it. With about four weeks until the exam, I called John Ralston. Investing in John’s help was the best decision I made in 2012. I sit here writing this just one day after receiving word that I passed the NY bar exam, and I attribute this success to John and LawPreps. John quickly restored the confidence I had lost after failing the first time. He prepared a study schedule for me that was customized to my needs. I was an outline junkie in law school, and I can state with confidence that you will not find better outlines than those of LawPreps. Above all else, John was a very cool, relatable, intelligent and caring guy. We immediately forged a great working relationship, and he helped give me perspective. Bar exam takers, the best advice I can give you is this: If you are going to do it, call John at LawPreps and do it the right way."

James
Passed February 2012 New York Bar Exam

"LawPreps was instrumental in helping me achieve success on the exam! The individual attention I received was far more valuable than the standard lecture-based course I had previously used. My tutor was phenomenal at finding my weak points in substantive knowledge as well as in essay mechanics. Also, having a tutor create my schedule and guide me through the entire preparation process was invaluable."

Syed
Passed February 2012 Illinois Bar Exam

"LawPreps taught me twice as much in half the time. Thank you for helping me make round two of the exam a success."

Rachel
Passed February 2012 Colorado and New Jersey Bar Exams

"Enrolling in LawPreps was probably the smartest thing I could have done for my bar preparation. LawPreps not only provided me with great substantive instruction in every area of the law, but more importantly, it restored the confidence I was lacking in my own knowledge of the law. Having confidence going into the bar exam made all the difference for me."

Anna
Passed July 2011 Illinois Bar Exam

"Thank you LawPreps and especially John Ralston for helping me to pass the July 2011 Bar Exam. You gave me the skills that I needed to pass the exam. Without any doubt I highly recommend LawPreps to anyone who is taking the bar in any state. Speaking from experience this is not an exam that you want to take multiple times, so do it right the first time and enroll with LawPreps."

Josephine
Passed July 2011 Georgia Bar Exam

"Studying for the bar exam is hard. John from LawPreps made studying for the bar exam easy and bearable. I was getting bogged down in the vast amount of information for all of the subject areas and was struggling to figure out how it all made sense and what were the important things to focus on. Once John explained things to me, the law made sense to me. Working with John made studying for the bar exam bearable; he taught me the important information, broke it down in a way that was easy to understand, and most importantly, I understood the material and was easily able to recall it during the bar examination."

Haley
Passed July 2011 Illinois Bar Exam

"Using LawPreps tutoring service was one of the best decisions I've ever made. I was not a recent grad with a lot of time to study, and my tutor really understood my situation and adjusted the program to fit my needs. My tutor helped me figure out how to work around my busy professional and personal schedule -- working together even when we were on different continents. The individual attention made my study time much more productive. I would not have passed the NY Bar without LawPreps."

Talita
Passed July 2011 New York Bar Exam

"I had failed the IL bar exam more than once. There is nothing more frustrating than religiously following a bar prep program and not passing the exam. I felt like the world’s biggest failure. After consulting with a former LawPreps student, I became really curious to see what LawPreps could do for me. I already spent so many hours and sunk thousands of dollars in other prep programs, I figured I had nothing left to lose. Working full-time and studying for the bar (again) seemed like history would repeat itself. However, the flexibility, support, encouragement, and knowledge of my tutor Kelli (who is awesome), the real MBE questions, and the concise outlines and charts were the winning combination! There is no greater feeling than to see your hard work and sacrifice finally pay off. I recommend LawPreps to everyone – first-time takers and repeat examiners."

Ruth
Passed July 2011 Illinois Bar Exam

"LawPreps saved my life. It gave me the tools to pass both the Arizona and Illinois bar exams!"

Rafi
Passed February 2011 Illinois Bar Exam and July 2011 Arizona Bar Exam

"I failed the bar in July 2010. It was a humiliating, frustrating, and embarrassing experience that fueled my self-doubt to extreme proportions. As a part-time law student with a wife, children, a full-time job, and a commute to the suburbs, I was destined for failure the second time . . . that is, without a well-defined plan. John Ralston and LawPreps afforded me that plan. John refined my objectives, fine-tuned my study regimen, and tailored our sessions together to meet my schedule and my specific needs. What's more, John helped me regain my confidence with his expertly crafted study aids and his methodic targeting of my weaknesses. I would recommend LawPreps to any Bar examinee without hesitation... If only someone had done that for me the first time."

Todd
Passed February 2011 Illinois Bar Exam

"I highly recommend LawPreps to anyone who is studying for the Bar Exam. Their outlines are superb in that they break down very complex rules, theories and law into easily digestible pieces of information which you will remember come exam time. Their one-on-one tutoring sessions were of immense help as well. Without their tutoring services (and handy outlines), I would not have passed the Bar Exam. The key to Law Prep's success in helping candidates pass the Bar is simple--they identify your strengths and weakness with respect to the material covered in the exam and formulate a concise and rigorous schedule to maximize your chances of passing the Bar. My tutor's dedication to his students was remarkable, and his resolve to put them in the best position to pass the exam was second-to-none. The most useful aspect of my time with John was his ability to motivate. There were many instances when the material seemed to be too much and too complex. His unique teaching-style coupled with his enthusiasm to teach helped me overcome those days of low motivation and keep me on track with my study regimen. Overall, my experience at LawPreps was far better than and helped me achieve much better results."

Kavan
Passed July 2010 Illinois Bar Exam

"Words cannot express my gratitude to you and LawPreps. After multiple setbacks with the Illinois Bar Exam, I was at a lost and in search mode. I was seeking a new approach on how to prepare for the exam and lacked the confidence I would need to pass. That all changed when I found LawPreps. From our first meeting you assured me that if I stayed the course and followed the study schedule you designed for me that I could pass. The private tutoring sessions were excellent as you provided me with one on one time to focus on all my weak subject areas. Moreover, the group workshops were amazing as they reinforced what I learned during our tutoring sessions. The best thing you did for me though was that you encouraged me and reassured me that I would succeed. And succeed I DID! Thank you for believing in me and instilling the confidence I needed to pass this exam. I would not have passed without you!"

Jerry
Passed July 2010 Illinois Bar Exam

"I would recommend LawPreps to anyone and everyone taking the bar, but especially repeat bar takers! John Ralston was my instructor and he was the guide I needed during my bar review. His 6-week MBE lecture series is sure to get anyone over the hump when studying for the Bar! I know that bar exam preparation can be expensive, and with the state of the economy being the way that it is, every little bit helps. BUT trust me, I sacrificed the small amount that I had and it was well worth it in the end! It was worth my sanity and peace of mind in knowing that after this, I would not have to spend any more time, money, and effort to study all over again. THANK YOU LawPreps and JOHN RALSTON!!! KUDOS TO YOU!!"

Tiffany
Passed July 2010 Illinois Bar Exam

"John from LawPreps not only knows the law, he also knows the areas of law the examiners like to test on and how they like to test it. With over 22 bodies of law on the exam, John knows how to organize a student’s time effectively, and guides them through the studying process all the way until the day of the exam. If a student follows John's schedule and advice, there is absolutely no reason why that student should not pass the bar!"

Laura
Passed July 2009 Illinois Bar Exam

"Studying for the bar exam after failing it in the past is an incredibly daunting and lonely experience. I honestly did not believe I had the will power to endure this process again. LawPreps was exactly what I needed. Not only did they provide me with the intellectual tools to successfully prepare myself for the exam, but they also provided me with the emotional and social support I needed so I could endure the stress of re-studying and re-taking the exam. LawPreps helped me rebuild my attitude so that going into the exam not only was I fully prepared to succeed but more importantly, I BELIEVED I was fully capable of passing the exam. LawPreps provided me with an amazing support system, enabling me to reach my full potential."

Shelly
Passed July 2009 Illinois Bar Exam

"Studying for and taking the bar exam is a daunting task, but having LawPreps in your corner makes your goal of passing much more attainable. After failing more than once, I knew I needed to try a different approach. The attention to detail and quality of service you receive from LawPreps is excellent. My Illinois bar exam tutor was John. He was always prepared for our meetings and no matter what questions I asked he always had the answer. It helped immensely to be able to move at my own pace, especially when I needed more time to truly grasp certain subjects, and to actually have someone answer my questions right away. John was also great at building my confidence and reminding me that if I followed the program and working hard, I would pass. He was right! I would highly recommend LawPreps to anyone taking the Illinois bar exam."

Nat
Passed February 2010 Illinois Bar Exam

"I cannot express enough my gratitude to John Ralston and LawPreps for helping me pass the Illinois bar exam. Being a three-time taker, I thought I had narrowed down my deficiencies to a point where I could successfully handle the exam. When the results came back negative for the third time, I realized that there was a mental block preventing me from overcoming this test. I was determined to succeed the fourth time, and John was instrumental in that success. During my first meeting with John we focused on my traditional problem areas and examined what I thought the rules of law were in those areas. John then assisted me in refining my understanding of these rules which enabled me to correct years of misunderstanding, and apply our lessons to the exam. By the end of our second meeting I was able to concoct the hypotheticals I had already encountered on the exams, and deconstruct them accordingly. When the February exam rolled around, I was supremely confident in my preparation, and passed! My problem was not my capability, but confusions that had existed since 1L year. Ultimately, LawPreps was crucial in helping me move forward with my legal career and I will always owe them my sincerest gratitude."

Christopher
Passed February 2010 Illinois Bar Exam

"LawPreps gave me the additional boost I needed to pass the bar exam. I used the majority of my hours getting help with essay writing, as my essay scores were primarily what kept me from passing previous bar exams. It was a three month process that involved a lot of dedication from both of my tutor and myself. As the saying goes, practice makes perfect." Every time I met with my tutor, we reviewed and analyzed my essay writing to the point where I felt like a robot. We also worked extensively on improving my MBE score. My tutor helped me to develop techniques for breaking down practice MBE questions and choosing the correct answer choice, particularly in Real Property, Evidence, and Criminal Law/Procedure. In fact, my tutor helped turn my weakest subject, Real Property, into the subject that I felt most comfortable with on the MBE. As a repeat taker of the exam LawPreps helped me tremendously, and the investment certainly paid off with passing the bar exam!"

Deepak
Passed February 2010 Illinois Bar Exam

"I am so very grateful to you for helping me pass the Illinois bar exam. I really don't think I could have done it without you. You were extremely knowledgeable about every aspect of the law in every important subject matter covered on the exam. In addition to your substantive expertise, on a personal level, you were exceedingly supportive and very easy to work with."

Beth
Passed February 2010 Illinois Bar Exam

"I was a repeat bar examination taker and sincerely believed that I would not pass. Each time that I went to review my examination results, I would be off by an average of 5 points. The last time that I had reviewed my results, I went with a friend who noticed flyers from LawPreps and he suggested that I consider reaching out for help. I, like most people, viewed asking for help as a sign of weakness and the ultimate sign of failure but using LawPreps turned out to be one of the best decisions I've ever made. I would recommend LawPreps for the one and only bar examination course that an examinee enrolls in. They offer a comprehensive review that rivals other much larger bar review companies. Money is a factor for many of us, but the upfront costs are outweighed by successful bar examination results and the fact that you will not have to spend another three to six months, studying for the exam. Using LawPreps is money and time well spent!"

David
Passed July 2009 Illinois Bar Exam

"I highly recommend LawPreps for your bar exam preparation course. LawPreps will guide you every step of the way toward a passing score. They will find a way for you to comprehend the material and give you the confidence to answer any question on the exam. During my initial meeting with my tutor, I could tell he was organized and would make my preparation for the bar exam easier than studying on my own or with a major bar prep course. His attention to detail and accommodation to personal schedules makes their program easy to follow. After my tutor identified my strengths and weaknesses on the exam, he designed my individualized schedule and tutoring program. During each one-on-one session, he used practical examples to make each point of law more relatable to real-life issues that attorneys face. These exercises not only gave me the ability to answer all bar exam questions, but also increased my ability to discuss each topic intelligently. My tutor was also a great motivator. Studying for the bar exam can be mentally draining and frustrating with its mundane topics. As a practicing attorney who has passed the bar exam in multiple jurisdictions my tutor understood what I was going through. I owe LawPreps all the gratitude in the world for helping me pass the bar exam. I wholeheartedly believe that they will guide you there as well."

Aaron
Passed July 2009 Illinois Bar Exam

"For anyone who has taken the bar exam a few times and been unsuccessful, I would highly recommend using LawPreps. I was about to give up and not even take the bar again, but after some convincing from family and doing some research I found John at LawPreps and will never regret it. I finally passed and I owe a lot of that to John. He was there to keep me on track, and gave me a detailed schedule to follow. What I liked the most was that I could ask any question and he would explain things to me in several different ways until I understood and he never once made me feel stupid for not knowing something. John was great at breaking things down so that I understood them better. He was a great motivator and provided me with great support throughout the 10 week studying period. If you want to pass, don't give up, hire John and he will help you make it happen!"

Katrina
Passed July 2009 Illinois Bar Exam

"LawPreps was the most important factor in helping me pass the bar exam. If I have to take another bar exam, I would not think twice about enrolling again. The program covers all the concepts most frequently tested on the exam. My tutor was always available to answer dumb questions and corrected many misconceptions. The program helped me understand how much preparation was required to pass. Above all, my tutor helped me overcome the disappointment of my prior failures by constantly motivating me and keeping me on schedule with my preparations. I cannot be more grateful to LawPreps for helping me pass the bar exam."